Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

JAMES HORNER FILM MUSIC | octobre 15, 2018 |

Scroll to top

Top

No Comments

FOND MEMORIES - EPISODE 3 : 1978-1980 - LE CYCLE ROGER CORMAN

FOND MEMORIES – EPISODE 3 : 1978-1980 – LE CYCLE ROGER CORMAN
Dans ce troisième épisode de Fond Memories, nous revenons sur les quatre partitions écrites pour Roger Corman. Si vous avez des informations qui peuvent compléter cet épisode, merci de nous contacter.
 
Bandes originales abordées dans cet épisode :
The Lady in Red (1979)
Up From The Depths (1979)
 
1978-1980 – LE CYCLE ROGER CORMAN
« Quand je me tourne vers les films à petit budget que j'ai faits, je me dis « Mon Dieu », mais vous devez vous rappeler qu'ils étaient structurellement importants pour moi, j'appris mon métier avec eux. Je ne savais rien à propos de la musique de films jusqu'à ce que je commence à travailler pour des films d'étudiants et à petit budget. Ainsi, je ne voudrais pas nécessairement que quiconque les voie. J'ai juste appris beaucoup grâce à eux, et j'ai rencontré des gens à travers eux ». 1
En 1979, James Horner commence à travailler avec le studio New World Pictures, fondé neuf ans plus tôt par Roger Corman, un des principaux producteurs de films indépendants (400 productions sur presque 60 ans de carrière). Roger Corman a une politique simple pour monter des films: un budget très faible, des salaires de misère, un sujet avec de l'action et une assez grande liberté. Le budget investi dans la musique était si faible pour ces films qu'il arrivait que James Horner signe lui-même les chèques pour payer les musiciens.
« Roger disait: «Voici 4000 $. Je veux un score de 90 minutes. » Vous aviez à résoudre cette énigme. Vous deviez être aussi inventif et ingénieux que vous pouviez l'être. Vous agissiez en tant que compositeur, en tant que chef d'orchestre et surtout en tant que producteur. Moi j'étais juste compositeur et chef d'orchestre. La partie la plus difficile était donc de savoir comment obtenir ce que Roger voulait pour son film et pour seulement 4000 $. Ce fut la meilleure chose que j'ai apprise de cette expérience ». 2
De plus Roger Corman n'était pas très préoccupé par la musique de films :
« Il n'est pas particulièrement une personne de la musique de film. Il ne comprend pas vraiment les scores et ce qu'ils peuvent faire. Ils sont la priorité la plus basse dans son agenda. Ils sont un mal nécessaire, pour ainsi dire. Je ne voyais vraiment pas beaucoup Roger. Il dirige seulement sa société, et si je voulais faire le film, nous le prévisualisions ensemble et c'était la seule fois que je le voyais. Il n'est jamais venu aux séances d'enregistrement, ni aux sessions de spotting [ndlr: les sessions durant laquelle le metteur en scène et le compositeur déterminent l’emplacement et le rôle de la musique à l’image]. Il ne participait pas aux processus créatif de la musique sauf pour dire qu'il l'aimait à la suite du visionnage du film avant sa sortie. Mais il m'a offert la première grande avancée de ma carrière et j'ai une dette envers lui pour cela ». 3
*****
La première composition pour le studio de Roger Corman est un film de gangsters : Du rouge pour un truand (The Lady in Red – 1979). Ce film retrace la vie de Polly de son enfance avec un père abusif en passant par la prostitution, jusqu'à la cavale avec Jimmy Dillinger, le célèbre gangster américain de la Grande Dépression.
Ce film écrit par John Sayles et réalisé par Lewis Teague est certainement un des meilleurs de la firme de New World. Mais l’apport musical de James Horner est limité au strict minimum. Quelques séquences sont mises en musique et d’autres sont des adaptations.
Par exemple, une brève intervention musicale au générique, une autre pour la poursuite en voiture des voleurs de banque, sont des adaptations de blues de Nouvelle-Orléans. On peut identifier une musique orientalisante de cabaret ou un passage au synthétiseur lors d’une séquence brutale. Rien de personnel.
Au bout d’une heure cependant, pendant quelques secondes, où l’on voit Robert Conrad apprendre le base-ball à Pamela Sue Martin, on reconnaît tout de suite le style lumineux du compositeur. La séquence semble anticiper Testament (Bike Talk – 1983) : il s’agit d’un thème pour guitare, piano, harpe et flûte, qui rappelle le Jerry Goldsmith des drames intimes ou le John Williams de Missouri Breaks, et qui sert de thème pour Polly dans sa relation avec Dillinger. La séquence la plus élaborée est celle qui accompagne la mort de Dillinger : basse répétée pour le suspense, ponctuation des cuivres, piano onirique, clusters de cuivres.
Il est passionnant de voir à quel point, très tôt, même dans de très brèves séquences, le compositeur propose déjà un style qui ne demande qu’à fructifier.
Les chansons citées dans le générique sont des classiques de la variété de la fin des années 20 et du début des années 30 : Ain’t she sweet, Baby Face, 42nd street, If I Could Be With You, We’re in The Money. Wouldn’t It Be Wonderful est interprété par Michael Feinstein.
*****
« Je suis tombé sur des gens faisant des films de monstres. Voilà comment j'ai appris mon métier ». 4
James Horner signe ensuite les séquences sous-marines de Up From The Depths (1979), film d'horreur où une série de mystérieuses attaques aquatiques indiquent la présence d'espèces inconnues de requins géants. Ils se nourrissent de touristes, de pêcheurs, de chercheurs…
Quelques arpèges de harpe, du vibraphone, des clusters de piano, du piano préparé… le compositeur de 26 ans s’entraîne aux rudiments du scoring en mettant en musique le suspense des scènes sous-marines de ce rejeton assez navrant des Dents de la mer (1976). Seules quelques minutes reconnaissables sont mixées. Pour compléter la bande-son de ce film fauché, des musiques temporaires du style librairie musicale de la Hammer sont maladroitement plaquées sur des scènes indigentes.
Le seul moment musical où l’on reconnaît vraiment le compositeur et l’ébauche de son style mélodique est une forme de fanfare qui intervient à la fin du film pour la résolution. Déjà les cors dans un registre haut…
«Vous ne travailliez pas pour Roger Corman pour gagner votre vie, mais pour l'expérience de la réalisation d'un film et pour l'apprentissage de votre métier. De nombreux cinéastes ont débuté avec Roger Corman parce qu'ils pouvaient faire beaucoup de films, mais la plupart d'entre eux étaient des films d'horreur effroyables et de faible qualité. Toutefois ils étaient un excellent moyen de commencer ». 5
*****
En 1980, James Horner poursuit son apprentissage avec tout d'abord Les monstres de la mer (Humanoids From The Deep), un nouveau film d'horreur.
Des expériences scientifiques produisent une espèce moitié homme et moitié saumon qui terrorise un petit village de pêcheurs en tuant les hommes et en violant les femmes.
Premières recherches sonores et utilisation de techniques contemporaines, ébauche du remarquable et inspiré Wolfen, Humanoids From The Deep est baignée par un thème aux tonalités inquiétantes, qui pourrait évoquer l’existentielle Question sans réponse (1908) de Charles Ives (The Unanswered Question). Idée qui sera reprise de façon plus explicite dans Wolfen et qui était, si l’on peut dire, brièvement à la mode à l’époque, si l’on se souvient du thème original composé par Jerry Goldsmith pour Alien (1979) – non utilisé par Ridley Scott – celui de Laurence Rosenthal pour The Island of Dr Moreau (1977) ou du développement majestueux du même Goldsmith dans Outland (1981).
La musique de films hollywoodienne à la fin des années 80 est incontestablement dominée par John Williams (Star Wars – 1977) et Jerry Goldsmith (Alien– 1979). Les producteurs de l'époque sont obsédés par leurs partitions et attendent de James Horner d'en composer des similaires. Il devient alors difficile d'esquiver les volontés de ceux qui vous embauchent, tout en imposant son propre style, ses idées. Alien de Jerry Goldsmith était d'ailleurs dans ces années-là une des musiques les plus utilisées en musique temporaire de nombreux films sur lesquels James Horner a travaillé. Ici pour Humanoids From The Deep c'est Jaws de John Williams (1975) qui a été utilisé pour certains passages impressionnistes : Jerry and Peggy, Trip Upriver.
 
Main Title – HUMANOIDS FROM THE DEEP – Original Soundtrack by James Horner
© 1980 New World Pictures, under license to BSX Records – BSXCD 8896
 

Même si le jeune compositeur n’a pas les moyens dont disposait son aîné, il prouve avec ce nanar aquatique que la médiocrité du support ne le dispense pas de donner de quoi faire aux musiciens de son petit orchestre : pas d’ampleur symphonique, quasi-absence de cuivres – certainement pour des raisons de budget – mais une écriture efficace, de belles couleurs instrumentales dans la continuité des scènes sous-marines de Up From The Depths (harpe, xylophone, piano préparé), les instruments aux sonorités étranges comme le blaster beam, le rubrods. Ce sont surtout les cordes et les percussions (dont le « Cowbell », les cloches tubulaires) qui sont sollicitées. On détecte également des clins d’œil aux symphonies de Chostakovitch dans Search for Clues (11eme symphonie) ou The Grotto (5eme symphonie).
Cet opus nanaresque s’écoute avec un certain plaisir pour la maîtrise d’écriture dont fait preuve ce jeune compositeur tout droit sorti de la salle de concert. Mais on préférera écouter des partitions à venir, qui en sont un développement plus abouti bien que composées dans l’urgence, comme Wolfen (1981) ou Krull (1983).
*****
Dans l'optique de concurrencer Star Wars (1977), Roger Corman obtient un budget de deux millions de dollars pour réaliser un space opera : Les Mercenaires de l'Espace (Battle Beyond the Stars – 1980). James Horner fait partie de l'aventure, c'est le quatrième film du cycle Corman.
Un tyran cruel et sans pitié a instauré une dictature sur la planète Akir. Ses habitants, des êtres pacifiques, n'ont jamais osé le contester, par peur de terribles représailles. Un jour, le conseil des anciens décide d'envoyer Shad dans l'espace à la recherche d'aide pour organiser une révolution…
Âgé de 26 ans, James Horner parvient malgré le petit budget alloué à la musique, à réunir soixante-deux musiciens afin de simuler le son du London Symphony Orchestra. Toutefois il ne bénéficie pas encore du travail de musiciens syndiqués.
« Quand un grand studio fait un film, il a un contrat avec l'Union des musiciens [ndlr, American Federation of MusiciansAFM] qui lui permet d'utiliser le personnel de l'Union dont tous les meilleurs compositeurs et musiciens sont membres. Cependant, cela l'oblige également à payer des frais supplémentaires. Quand je travaillais avec Roger Corman, les musiciens n'étaient pas signataires avec l'AFM, afin que je puisse embaucher des orchestres entiers… Ainsi au lieu de leur payer 360 $ pour une session de trois heures, je leur payais comme 80 $ ou 100 $ pour toute la journée, et bien sûr, je ne prenais pas de frais du tout ».  5
Ainsi l'interprétation de Battle Beyond The Stars peine parfois notamment dans la section des cuivres, mais le temps donné aux enregistrements devait être ridiculement court. Toutefois on comprend aisément l’effet produit dans le monde du cinéma bis de Roger Corman par cette partition symphonique qui impressionne par son ampleur, son souffle, sa dynamique. Partition tributaire du travail de ses aînés, elle est, à la demande des commanditaires, le prolongement du choc symphonique de Star Wars et de Star Trek.
Mais ce n’est pas que cela. James Horner démontre que l’imitation des principes ou de passages précis de ces partitions n’exclut pas un style symphonique propre et une remarquable maîtrise des codes de la composition et de l’orchestration. Faite à la manière de ses prédécesseurs, certes, mais déjà, le compositeur de Star Trek II (1982), Krull (1983) et Cocoon (1985) sommeille…. La partition est tout sauf pauvre ou dénuée d’idées, et la présence des références à Star Wars, Star Trek, de clins d’œil à Prokofiev ou Mahler, ne changent rien au fait qu’une personnalité émerge…
On se demandera certainement encore longtemps ce que recèle sa partition pour le concert Spectral Shimmers, mais Battle Beyond The Stars porte en elle une personnalité affirmée qui saisit le sens musical à donner à un drame. Mélodies amples et rondes, amour du cor, orchestrations limpides, maîtrise des techniques d’écriture modernes permettant d’approfondir et de pimenter le style post-mahlérien, il y a vraiment plus de talent que n’en demande le nanar produit par la firme Corman…
 
Main Title Batte Beyond The Stars – Original Soundtrack by James Horner

© 1981 New World Pictures, under license to BSX Records – BSXCD 8888
 

Le thème principal a été repris dans plusieurs bandes-annonces et Roger Corman a réutilisé cette bande originale dans plusieurs de ses productions ultérieures comme Sorceress (1983), Space Raiders (1983) et même Raptor (2001), dont James Horner n'a sans doute jamais vu aucune image.
A la réalisation artistique et aux effets spéciaux de Battle Beyond the Stars s’exerçait un certain James Cameron, futur réalisateur de Titanic (1997) qui se souviendra quelques années plus tard de James Horner pour composer la musique de son film Aliens (1986).
« J'ai rencontré James Horner sur Battle Beyond the Stars, qui était le premier film qui m'a permis d'obtenir un chèque de paie. Je suis entré en tant que constructeur de maquettes et j'ai fini trois mois plus tard chef décorateur, chose qui ne peut arriver que dans une production de Roger Corman. La bande-originale était de loin le principal atout du film. C'était une partition orchestrale, avec aucun synthétiseur ridicule. Après j'ai rencontré James à quelques reprises, puis Gale Anne Hurd [productrice d'Aliens, ndlr] et moi, nous avons observé sa progression fulgurante ». 6
Au terme de ces quatre films la période Corman touche à sa fin et même si la qualité cinématographique n'était pas au rendez-vous, cette étape fut essentielle pour construire des compétences de compositeur pour l'image. Roger Corman a été comme un parrain pour James Horner.
« Le titre de « parrain » lui va bien, quand on pense qu'il a su dénicher le talent de Francis Ford Coppola (rires). Le budget était dérisoire mais Roger me laissa une grande liberté de création. A Hollywood, les producteurs vous demandent souvent d'imiter ce qui a fait le succès d'un film précédent. Pas facile, dans ces conditions, d'imposer ses idées de composition. J'ai une gratitude éternelle pour Roger et je ne renie pas mes premiers films – Du rouge pour un truand de Lewis Teague (1979), Les Mercenaires de l'espace de Jimmy T. Murakami (1980) et tous les autres films d'horreur et d'anticipation. Ils font partie de mon apprentissage ». 7
« Ce que travailler pour Roger m'a apporté : cela m'a aidé à construire mes compétences, à produire de la musique pour rien et à rechercher l'écriture de la meilleure musique possible ». 8
Au terme de ses deux années chez New World Pictures, James Horner a maintenant assez d'expérience pour prétendre ouvrir les portes de studios plus importants.

« Battle Beyond the Stars a été le film qui m'a mis sur la marche suivante de l'échelle. Il m'a amené à la Paramount et à Star Trek ». 2
Mais tout d'abord en 1981, ce sont les studios Orion et Polygram qui feront appel à lui pour écrire la musique de leurs productions. 
 

Article écrit par David Hocquet et Jean-Baptiste Martin
Traduction par Kjell Neckebroeck
Bannière titre réalisée par Javier Burgos

Remerciements particuliers à Byron Brassel, Nick Martin et Olivier Soudé. 
 
Sources :
 
Crédits photo :
James Cameron : Angela George [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons
Autres images et artworks : © New World Pictures
 
Les extraits audio diffusés sur cette page respectent le Code de la propriété intellectuelle – Article L122-5 qui stipule que :
« Lorsque l'oeuvre a été divulguée, l'auteur ne peut interdire, sous réserve que soient indiqués clairement le nom de l'auteur et la source, les analyses et courtes citations justifiées par le caractère critique, polémique, pédagogique, scientifique ou d'information de l'oeuvre à laquelle elles sont incorporées. »

This post is also available in: Anglais

Submit a Comment

Post only about the article.
Be courteous with other users.
Interventions should be clear and easy to understand.
Do not post any sexual or violent content.
Do not post links to illegal downloads or to unofficial YouTube videos or to any illegal contents.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

JAMES HORNER FILM MUSIC | April 24, 2017 |

Scroll to top

Top

No Comments

FOND MEMORIES - EPISODE 3: 1978-1980 - THE ROGER CORMAN MOVIES

FOND MEMORIES – EPISODE 3: 1978-1980 – THE ROGER CORMAN MOVIES
This third episode of Fond Memories discusses the four scores James Horner wrote for Roger Corman. If you have any information that could supplement this episode, please do not hesitate to contact us.
 
Soundtracks covered in this episode:
The Lady in Red (1979)
Up From The Depths (1979)
 
1978-1980 – THE ROGER CORMAN MOVIES
When I look at the low-budget films I did, I say "God", but you have to remember they were structurally important to me, I learned my craft with them. I knew nothing about scoring movies until I started working on student films and low-budget films. So while I wouldn't necessarily want anybody to see them, I learned a great deal from them and I met people through them.” 1
In 1979, Horner started to work for New World Pictures, a studio founded in 1970 by the legendary Roger Corman, one of the most important independent film producers in movie history, who churned out 400 movies in a career spanning 60 years.
Roger Corman had a simple movie-making philosophy: rock-bottom budgets, poverty wages, lots of action material and a considerable amount of artistic freedom. The music budget was so low, in fact, that James Horner sometimes found himself signing his musicians’ checks.
Roger said, “Here’s $4,000. I want a 90-minute score.” You have to solve that riddle. You have to be as inventive and resourceful as you can be. You are acting as a composer, conductor and most importantly a producer. I’d been a composer, I’d been a conductor. The hardest part was: how do you get what Roger wants for his movie for $4,000? That was the best skill I learned.” 2
Moreover, Roger Corman was not very involved in the film music department:
He's not particularly a film music person. He doesn't really understand scores and what they can do. They are the lowest priority on his agenda. They are a necessary evil, so to speak. I didn't really see that much of Roger. He just runs the company, and I would do the film, and we'd preview it and that was about the only time I'd see him. He'd never come to the scoring sessions, he'd never come to the spotting session. He had no participation in the music, except to say that he liked the music when he saw it in the preview. But he gave me my first big break in films, and I owe him a debt for that.” 3
*****
Horner’s first Roger Corman score was for a gangster movie called The Lady in Red (1979). The film tells the life story of Polly, from a childhood spent in the company of an abusive father, followed by an episode of prostitution, right up to when she elopes with Jimmy Dillinger, the famous Depression-era gangster.
Written by John Sayles and directed by Lewis Teague, The Lady In Red was definitely one of the best of the New World catalogue. However, Horner’s musical contribution is limited to a strict minimum. Only a few sequences ended up being scored, other cues are adaptations.
Among the latter is a brief cue which plays over the opening credits and a short snippet for bank robbers involved in a car chase. These are all adaptations of New Orleans blues pieces. There’s an oriental-sounding cabaret cue and some synthesizer stuff for a scene of violence, but nothing personal.
Around the one-hour mark, however, in a brief musical moment which finds Robert Conrad teaching Pamela Sue Martin how to play baseball, one suddenly recognizes James Horner’s luminous style. The sequence looks ahead somewhat to Testament’s Bike Talk – 1983: it’s a theme for guitar, piano, harp and flute, reminiscent of Jerry Goldsmith’s intimate dramas or John Williams’s The Missouri Breaks, and it serves as the primary identity of the female protagonist and her relationship to Dillinger. The most elaborate score cue plays under Dillinger’s death: a sustained bass line for suspense, brass punctuation, a dreamlike piano and brass clusters.
It’s exciting to hear how from the earliest stages, even very short sequences showcase the composer’s burgeoning style, waiting to grow and develop.
The songs listed in the credits are classics of the late twenties and early thirties: Ain’t she sweet, Baby Face, 42nd street, If I Could Be With You, We’re in The Money. Wouldn’t It Be Wonderful is sung here by Michael Feinstein.
*****
I fell in with people making monster movies. That’s how I learned my craft.” 4
James Horner goes on to tackle the underwater sequences of Up From The Depths (1979), a horror film about a series of mysterious underwater attacks by an unknown species of giant sharks feeding on tourists, fishermen and researchers…
The score features some harp arpeggios, vibraphone, piano clusters, prepared piano … At age 26, Horner was learning the ropes by scoring the underwater suspense of this rather embarrassing Jaws (1975) rip-off. Only a few minutes of recognizable underscore survive in the final mix. Padding the soundtrack is temp music of the Hammer library variety, awkwardly added to scenes of dubious quality.
Only a short fanfare-like moment right at the end of the movie reveals the composer’s knack for melodies and the budding contours of his style. There’s already a high-sounding horn…
You didn't work for Roger Corman to make a living, you worked for him for the experience of film making and learning your craft. A lot of film makers started off with Roger Corman because he was making so many movies, but most of them were grisly horror movies and of not very high quality, however it was a great place to start.” 5
*****
In 1980, James Horner continued his apprenticeship with Humanoids From The Deep, another horror movie.
Scientific experiments gone awry spawn a creature half-man, half-salmon terrorizing a small fishing community by killing men and raping women.
A remarkably inspired and well-exectued score, Humanoids From The Deep was James Horner’s first serious foray into sound research and contemporary composing techniques, providing a template for the upcoming Wolfen. The score revolves around an eery theme, perhaps echoing Charles Ives's The Unanswered Question (1908). This idea would go on to take greater significance in Wolfen and sort of got its moment in the sun at the time if one recalls the original theme Jerry Goldsmith composed for Alien (1979) – which Ridley Scott did not end up using – as well as Laurence Rosenthal’s The Island of Dr. Moreau (1977) or the majestic thematic development in Goldsmith’s Outland (1981).
The music of Hollywood movies in the late eighties was largely dominated by John Williams (Star Wars – 1977) and Jerry Goldsmith (Alien – 1979). At the time, it was the kind of music all movie producers were after and James Horner was expected to write in the same vein. The composer could not afford to bite the hand that fed him, and yet he tried to slip in his own style and ideas. Indeed, Jerry Goldsmith’s Alien was temp-tracked in most of the movies Horner was involved with. Humanoids From The Deep was heavily temped with John Williams' Jaws (1975), which left its stamp on some quiet moments as Jerry and Peggy and Trip Upriver.
 
Main Title – HUMANOIDS FROM THE DEEP – Original Soundtrack by James Horner
© 1980 New World Pictures, under license to BSX Records – BSXCD 8896
 
While the young composer did not enjoy the resources available to A-listers such as Williams, he still gave the musicians of his small orchestra plenty to do: even though the scale can hardly be called symphonic and even though the music budget precluded a decent brass section, the writing is effective and the instrumental colors are beautiful, reminiscent of the underwater scenes from Up From the Depths (harp, xylophone, prepared piano). Also, the composer incorporates into his orchestral palette such strange sounds as the blaster beam and the rubrods. The score relies primarily on strings and percussion (including the "Cowbell", tubular bells). Furthermore, there are subtle references to Shostakovich’s 11th symphony in Search for Clues and to the 5th symphony in The Grotto.
This enjoyable dud of a score does display the unmistakably accomplished writing of a young composer fresh from the concert hall. Even so, the ideas Horner touched upon did not come to fruition until such later scores as Wolfen (1981) or Krull (1983), despite the crushing deadlines imposed by those projects.
*****
In order to slice himself a piece of the Star Wars (1977) cake, Roger Corman obtained two million dollars to make himself a space opera: Battle Beyond the Stars (1980). With James Horner on board, this was the fourth and final film of his Roger Corman cycle.
A ruthless tyrant has established a cruel dictatorship on the planet Akir. Its peaceful inhabitants do not rebel for fear of terrible reprisals. One day, the council of elders decides to send Shad into space to build a base for the revolution…
Aged 26 and despite another shoe-string music budget, James Horner managed to put together a 62-piece orchestra and tried to make it sound like the London Symphony Orchestra. Even so, the orchestra players were strictly non-union.
Major studios have a contract with the AFM, the American Federation of Musicians, which allows them to use Union personnel of which all the top composers and musicians are members. However, it also requires them to pay Union fees. When I was working with Roger Corman, he was not a signatory with the musician's Union, so I could hire orchestras… Instead of paying them $360 for a three-hour session, I was paying them like $80 or $100 for the entire day, and of course, I was taking no fee at all.” 5
The performance of the Battle Beyond The Stars score has its share of imperfections, most notably in the brass section, but maybe this was to be expected given the absurdly rushed recording sessions. That being said, it is not hard to be impressed by this kind of symphonic music coming out of Corman’s world of B-movies. Horner’s music was impressive in scale, it had true symphonic panache and its dynamics were great. Acknowledging the work of the ones who came before him, Horner emulated the symphonic sound of Star Wars and Star Trek as per the producers’ request.
But there’s more. James Horner’s imitation of the style and even individual cues of the aforementioned classics does not keep his score from displaying a symphonic style all his own and a remarkable mastery of composition and orchestration. The echoes of Williams and Goldsmith are undoubtedly there, but so is the composer who would go on to write Star Trek II, Krull and Cocoon… The score is not lazy and certainly not devoid of ideas. For all the nods to Star Wars, Star Trek, Prokofiev and Mahler, it is clear that an exciting new voice is beginning to be heard…
We’ve long wondered what Spectral Shimmers sounds like, but Battle Beyond The Stars bears testament to a highly talented musician who innately understands and brings out the musical meaning of movie drama. The themes are sweeping and well-rounded, the horn is given ample emphasis, the orchestrations are crystal-clear. Horner uses modern writing techniques that take the post-Mahler mold and build on it. As a whole, his score is so much better than the Corman dud ever needed or deserved…
 
Main Title Batte Beyond The Stars – Original Soundtrack by James Horner

 

© 1981 New World Pictures, under license to BSX Records – BSXCD 8888
 
The score’s main theme was used in several trailers later on and Roger Corman tracked the music into such subsequent productions as Sorceress (1983), Space Raiders (1983) and even Raptor (2001). However, it is unlikely that Horner ever saw any footage of these movies at all.
Working on the artistic direction and special effects teams of Battle Beyond the Stars was a certain James Cameron, the future director of Titanic (1997), who remembered James Horner’s name when he was working on Aliens (1986).
I met James Horner on Battle Beyond the Stars, which was my first film getting a paycheck. I entered as a junior model builder and ended up three months later as production designer, which could only happen on a Roger Corman production. The score was absolutely the best thing about the film. It was a full-on orchestral score, not some rinky-dink synth score. After that I ran into him a few times and Gale Anne Hurd [producer of Aliens] and I, being Corman alumni, watched him skyrocket.” 6
Battle Beyond The Stars marked the end of James Horner’s two-year tenure at the Corman studios, and despite the poor quality of the movies he worked on, they proved to be an essential step for the young composer, allowing him to hone his film musical skills. Roger Corman was like a godfather to James Horner.
"The title "Godfather" suits him very well when you think he was able to enlist the talent of Francis Ford Coppola (laughs). The budget was laughable but Roger gave me a great deal of creative freedom. Hollywood producers often ask you to mimic a previous film’s success. That does not make it easy to do your own thing. I am eternally grateful to Roger and I do not disavow my first movies – Lady in Red by Lewis Teague (1979), Battle Beyond The Stars by Jimmy T. Murakami (1980) and all the other horror and sci-fi movies. They were part of the learning curve.” 7
What working for Roger did for me, was it helped my procedural skills. How to produce music for literally nothing and how to write the best music for the films that they were.” 8
Note: David Newman, composer of a hundred film scores of which include the animated films Anastasia (1997) and Ice Age (2002) had conducted the music of Humanoids From The Deep and Battle Beyond The Stars, before being consultant in Wolfen (1981). As if early in his career James Horner was hesitant to conduct the orchestra himself. After Battle Beyond The Stars, he conducted every subsequent film score.

After two years at New World Pictures, James Horner was experienced enough to move on to bigger studio fare.
Battle Beyond The Stars was the fusion movie that put me on the next step of the ladder. It brought me to attention of Paramount and Star Trek.” 2
But before that, the Orion and Polygram studios called on him in 1981.
 

Article by David Hocquet and Jean-Baptiste Martin
Translation by Kjell Neckebroeck
Banner by Javier Burgos

 

 

Special thanks to Javier Burgos, Byron Brassel, Nick Martin and Olivier Soudé. 
 
Sources:
 
Photo credits:
James Cameron: Angela George [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons
Others pictures and artworks: © New World Pictures

This post is also available in: French

Submit a Comment

Post only about the article.
Be courteous with other users.
Interventions should be clear and easy to understand.
Do not post any sexual or violent content.
Do not post links to illegal downloads or to unofficial YouTube videos or to any illegal contents.